Driving drunk accidents are a serious offense in any state. Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are incredibly dangerous and put the lives of everyone around the driver in jeopardy. Missouri law takes this crime seriously and penalizes offenders with heavy consequences.
What Does Missouri Law Say About DUI/DWI?
In Missouri, there are two sections of law regarding DUI arrests and license suspension. The criminal law section deals with the ticket the officer issues a driver. When the court convicts someone of an alcohol offense, the driver has points added to his or her driver’s license. Administrative law imposes another suspension or revocation of driving privilege depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC). If you or a loved one have been injured as a result of being involved in a DUI collision in Missouri, contact an experienced Kansas City, MO auto accident lawyer who handles DUI crash cases on a regular basis for a free legal consultation.
When a license accumulates eight points or more in 18 months, the Missouri Department of Revenue will suspend a license for 30 days. A second suspension is for 60 days and subsequent suspensions are 90 days. The courts will revoke a driver’s license for one year if you acquire 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 24 months, or 24 points or more in 36 months.
Just one drink can impair driving. However, a driver can legally have alcohol in his or her system behind the wheel as long as the BAC does not meet or exceed 0.08%. With drivers under the age of 21, the legal limit is 0.02%. For commercial drivers, such as those who drive semi-trucks, the limit is 0.04%. Truck accidents are one of if not the most dangerous type of auto accident and drunk driving is one of the most common causes of accidents. If the police stop a driver with an illegal BAC, he or she can face fines, driver’s license revocation, and even jail time. The driver will face penalties from the court as well as the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Penalties for DUI/DWI in Missouri
When the police arrest you on suspicion of DUI or DWI, they will automatically suspend your driver’s license. You will receive a Notice of Suspension/Revocation, which you can contest by requesting a hearing or requesting restricted privileges. If the courts deny your request, they will suspend your license for 90 days (first offense) or one year (second offense). If you are convicted of DUI twice within five years, the courts can revoke your license for up to five years.
As a driver in Missouri, you give your implied consent to alcohol and drug testing when you receive your driver’s license. If you refuse to submit to a test when an officer requests that you take one, the courts will revoke your license for one year. Minors caught driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher will have their license suspended for 90 days.
On top of penalties inflicted by the DMV, a driver under the influence will also face charges from the Missouri courts. If the courts find you guilty of DWI, you can face up to six months in jail, a $500 fine, and mandatory completion of alcohol/drug addiction programs. Depending on your situation, the court may also mandate that you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. This gadget requires that you take a BAC test before you can start your car.
Did a DUI/DWI Auto Accident in Missouri Injure You?
If a driver under the influence of drugs or alcohol caused your car accident, you can take the offender to court and demand financial compensation. When you hire a Kansas City, MO personal injury attorney at Fowler Pickert Eisenmenger Norfleet, we will help you navigate your case, speak with insurance companies, gather evidence incriminating the drunk driver, and do our best to win compensation. Spencer Eisenmenger has extensive successful experience handling all different types of accident cases, including DUI crashes, and we have track record of successful case results Compensation can include payment for your past and future pain and suffering, medical costs, lost wages, and lost earning capacity. Do not let the negligence of a drunk driver decide how you live the rest of your life.
Have You or a Loved One Been Injured in a Kansas City, Missouri Car Accident?
If you've been hurt in a Kansas City area car accident you should speak with an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Please feel free to contact us online or call our office directly at 816.832.4688 to schedule your free consultation. We are proud to serve Kansas City, Missouri, and the surrounding area and look forward to speaking with you.